Un-soy “Soy” Sauce

Ahhhh! The coveted black gold of Asian cooking those of us with soy allergies have yearned for and so longingly missed in our favorite Asian dishes…

Coconut Enzymes were a WELCOMED substitute, but packed only a portion of the punch… but happy I was to have a “similar” flavor in my cooking after I had to nix soy from my diet.

Then, my husband and I stumbled across this recipe on the web. We’ve had it on a grease stained piece of paper hanging on the fridge by the stove for so long, I can’t remember what site we got this from… but it is not ours to take credit for (which is why you get it here for free and not in my upcoming book)…
and trust me I WOULD take credit if I could! This sauce is so rich and dark and delicious! I will never use another soy sauce substitute, unless this recipe is packaged in a bottle so I don’t have to make it myself!

It’s simple, but takes time and patience so you don’t scorch it.

Enjoy!

2c Un-Beef Broth (2 c water and 1-2 cubes)

2 teaspoons Apple Cider Vinegar

1 teaspoon Molasses

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

1 dash each pepper, garlic, onion powder

Heat all ingredients in a sauce pan to a low boil, stirring occasionally; reduce to 1/2 to 1/4c, depending on how dark you want the sauce. Cool and store in the refrigerator.

That simple!

What do you think?

